>July Skiing

>


Ok, so it wasn’t too steep, or deep, or aesthetic, or particularly pleasing turns but hey, it was my 21 consecutive month of skiing locally and that is totally cool.

I headed up to the north side of Mt Baird in the Snake River Range and found 6-700 vert of ‘saucered’ summer snow to  carve on.  I stayed off my butt and on my skis and considering that it looked like a summertime lake of wind chop, I was pleased.
As an added bonus, I was nearly run over by 3 mountain goats, heading for greener pastures.  I saw them moving towards me on my contour so I waited quietly and sure enough, they popped over a ridge about 50 feet away, heading straight for me.  I made a subtle move after snapping a couple of pictures and they scampered off.  It was quite a moment!
Now to see if enough snow will last to get through this summer and keep my project going!!! 
2 responses to “>July Skiing

  1. >6-700 feet aint bad in July. besides, after June 15th, every turn counts double in Idaho, a lot of people don't know that. Nice goat pic!

  2. >Ya ,it was pretty cool to anticipate that the goats would basically walk right to me and than have it happen! I love Idaho!!

Comments are closed.