>sun, wind, and hard snow

>

One can only resist the blue skies for so long; especially with Kelly Mountain right outside my home/office window and just 10 minutes away!
I have been wanting to ski the wind ribs across and just down canyon from Kelly Canyon Ski Hill. Every time i ride the lift and look behind me, these fun looking ridges just beg to be skied. Obviously south facing and no chance of finding powder, i found excitement in simply skiing the features rather than hunting for good snow. The views of the ski hill and the off piste terrain are quite beautiful from the Buckskin Morgan Ridge!
The west end of Kelly Mountain with a sunny AT Hill in all of its glory! Great view of Middle Earth as well… if you know where to look…

The finest lift served off piste terrain Kelly Canyon has to offer; Moose Face shining in the sun with a few of the piste runs lookers left.

Hard to see, but my tracks come down the obvious wind feature below and just skiers right of the two pine trees. This particular rib drops right into the Grover’s driveway (the two cabins just before the ski hill).

It was great to get out in the sunshine, but the wind definitely had some serious chill to it already. My hand instantly froze when i took my glove off to operate my camera phone for these pictures. It’s gonna be a cold one the next few days!

-Dean Lords
One response to “>sun, wind, and hard snow

  1. >I've skied a couple of those in years past and I found them fun for similiar reasons; you see them every time you ski KC, no one goes over there and they are often like Dave B likes'em, hard and fast!!

Comments are closed.